SIGHT AND SOUND PICKS VERTIGO OVER CITIZEN KANE


My theory is that Citizen Kane has always been recognized as an important film and a technical achievement (for its time), but always lacked a human connection for people. Now that a new, younger generation of critics have come up, they still appreciate the technical achievement of Kane and its importance, but Vertigo is something that they have a more visceral and immediate emotional connection. I know Vertigo doesn’t work for a lot of people, but for me, it is Hitchcock’s greatest film, an incredible exploration of the dark forces that drive us, a riveting dissection of how sex and obsession can take over our lives, disguised as a suspense film. My big issue is The Searchers. I understand it’s importance, but I can’t get past the racism and the cruel humor toward Native Americans the movie shows at times (and a lackluster supporting cast).

So tell me what you think.

