MY PREDICTIONS FOR THE OSCARS


These are my predictions for the Academy Awards that are coming up this Sunday.  I am now going to make my first change here.  I am going to change my choice for editing from Whiplash to Boyhood.

I don’t expect to do that well this year because there are a few too many unknowns. In fact, I can’t remember the last time there were this many unknowns. So for many of the categories, I’m making some guesses. I’ll try to indicate those.

But the difficult categories (aside from the usual ones of shorts, sound editing, etc.) are best picture, actor, director and foreign film.

Everything else is fairly solid (aside from the usual ones of shorts, sound editing, etc.), though I know there are some disagreements out there.

But here goes:

BEST PICTURE:

Birdman

Yeah, I know, it’s either this or Boyhood, but I think Birdman may pull it off.

BEST ACTOR:

Michael Keaton – Birdman

Yeah, I know, it’s either him or Redmayne or, if they split the votes, Cooper, but I think Keaton has it.

BEST ACTRESS:

Julianne Moore – Still Alice

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR:

J.K. Simmons – Whiplash

BEST ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE:

The Lego…Oh, wait, that’s right, that wasn’t nominated, so…

How to Train Your Dragon 2

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY:

Birdman

BEST COSTUME DESIGN:

The Grand Budapest Hotel

BEST DIRECTOR:

Alejandro G. Inarritu – Birdman

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE:

CitizenFour

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT SUBJECT:

Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1

BEST FILM EDITING:

Boyhood.

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:

Usually one of the ones that is definite, but not this year, so I’m going with:

Leviathan

BEST MAKEUP AND HAIRSTYLING:

The Grand Budapest Hotel

BEST MUSIC:

The Grand Budapest Hotel

BEST SONG:

Glory from Selma

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN:

The Grand Budapest Hotel

BEST SHORT ANIMATED:

The Dam Keeper

BEST SHORT LIVE ACTION:

The Phone Call

BEST SOUND EDITING:

American Sniper

BEST SOUND MIXING:

Whiplash

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS:

Interstellar

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY:

The Imitation Game

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

The Grand Budapest Hotel

 

 

1 Comment

So tell me what you think.

